I had my first classes today--4 in a row by myself, and 1 at the end of the day co-teaching with Phi-Som (pronounced Pee-Som, 'Phi' meaning "senior"), who is the core teacher for the general Matium 3 classes. Matium 3 would be the equivalent to 9th grade in America. They are then separated by intellectual abilities from 1-10. I am currently assigned the Matium 3 classes that range from 1-9. So when I say M3/1, it means that I'm teaching 9th grade who have exceptional abilities, and M3/9 would be considerably worse in understanding English.
Today, I had M3/1, M3/2, M3/6, and M3/9 (with co-teaching with Phi-Som M3/3). M3/1 and M3/2 were right after each other in the classrooms next door, and I had been so extremely nervous that it was difficult for me to walk through that door for my first class. When I walked in, the students stood up, said "Good morning, teacher" in the sweetest, most attentive way that I thought I could only imagine in my head. It made me feel immediately welcome and less nervous. My M3/1 class was my best class today, in terms of speaking, listening, understanding, and paying attention. I have very high hopes to do a lot of fun activities with them (despite the fact that they don't seem too keen on activities, but that's okay, I have a goal to wean them off of the boring worksheets). Not to mention, worksheets do not promote fluency in speaking and listening.
My M3/2 class was considerably worse. I've made the distinction that the more boys there are in the class, the less attention the rest of the class pays at the front of the room. That makes it fairly difficult to get their attention, and thus, their participation. However, there will always be a couple of students who pay attention and knows exactly what I'm talking about and will explain to their friends. It does, however, raise the chatter in the room, which makes the boys in the back of the classroom even louder. I'm trying to find ways around that--I need to find a way to engage them and have them become interested in English. Unfortunately, I feel that this is karma, as I never really paid attention to my teachers in class when I was in middle/high school, so now I'm paying for it. Dangit. I also shed a few tears after this class because it was just hard to say that I really enjoyed teaching students that won't stay seated, won't be quiet, and constantly copying each other's homework in class for one of their near-future classes.
Whoever said Asian students are good students can shove their stereotyping foot up their stereotyping butt. Also, this is a lesson in which people should understand that stereotyping is bad and should be avoided at all costs.
My M3/6 class was probably not the worst class today, but it felt like it. Because of the pep talk that various of the more experienced teachers had with me, I managed to push on through and talk to the few students that were paying attention. M3/9 was, by far, the worst class in terms of discipline. M3/9 was 95% male, only 30% paid attention, and 25% were either up out of their seats, running around the classroom, or running out of the classroom (and then back in). I'm also quite sure that there were a couple of students in the classroom that were not a part of the class, and it's giving me a headache all over again just thinking about it. I asked Jerry (the veteran English teacher--and by veteran, I mean he has 10 months ahead of us) what I should do, and even though he told me to be strict with them, how do I be strict with a bunch of boys who are physically taller than I am?! For once, I'm sad that there's not corporal punishment allowed in the schools (due to a very recent law that was passed), because sometimes I think that's all these students will respond to.
Co-teaching with Phi-Som is interesting because M3/3 were also very sweet students (though I'm not quite sure if it's because Phi-Som was in the classroom with me or if it's because it's a classroom that consists mainly of really enthusiastic and cute girls), but their English level was quite impressive, and they were interested in introducing themselves to me and hearing me butcher their names in badly-accented Thai. (Also, it seems that a lot of their nicknames are like "ice" or "milk" or "dream"...just pronounced weirdly so I could never really catch their names--or remember them.)
I found out today that the school has given me an objective, which is to heighten the listening and speaking abilities of the students. Not the easiest objective ever, and it limits what I really want to do in the classroom (in terms of class sizes and their own levels of understanding), but I'm trying to find speaking/listening activities that they'll take an interest in. For now, I'm just flailing about in an ocean of my own tears.
Here's a note: the school will be horrible at getting things done ahead of time. I was asked to help another English teacher write a skit, and have the students practice the skit in time for the competition on the 20th of November. (And then they just happened to fail to mention that my entire semester's lesson plans are due the 10th of November......and then fail to tell me that I need to sign out of the classroom every time I have class in there.) Patience, hard work, and perseverance will help me last through the entire year I'm here. There will be a lot of playing to make up for this, dangnabbit!
Here's to hoping tomorrow's M3/5, M3/6 (co-teaching with Phi-Som--yes!), M3/8 and M3/4 will be a lot better than today. Also, with tomorrow's schedule, it seems I will, once again, not have any time to eat lunch. Don't worry, I've only briefly lost my appetite. I'm going to be so skinny by the time I get out of here. And hopefully M6/3 will be amazing. 12th graders usually are, right...?